FAQ - Popular Questions

What do I need to transport my board on my car?

I have a rack

The ideal scenario is to have a rack on the roof of your car. If you have a rack, you should purchase cushions in order to avoid damaging your board. You will then need to purchase straps to securely attach your board to your rack.

I don’t have a rack

If you don’t have a rack, we sell what we call ‘‘wraprax’’. These consist essentially of cushions and straps sewed together that you place on the roof of your car. Acting as a temporary rack (removable and mobile), the wraprax allows you to transport your board without damaging the roof of your car.

During transportation, we strongly recommend that you place your board in a travel bag in order to avoid severe weather conditions, rocks or excessive exposure to sunlight, all of which could damage your board.

I may have accidentally ‘dinged’ my SUP. What do I do?

No need to panic! It is easily fixed! The moment you realize that your board has suffered a small notch, take it out of the water and prevent any water from entering. If you think that water has managed to make its way inside of your board, lay it out in the sun for a few minutes and observe whether small bubbles form around the hole. Conversely, you can try putting your mouth on the hole to suck out the water. Once you are convinced that there is no more water inside of your board and that it is completely dry, you can place a layer of epoxy to fill in the hole. You should then let your board dry for several hours (or for the amount of time indicated on the epoxy tube).

Should you be unsure of the extent of the damages involved, please communicate with one of our team members.

How do I choose the right SUP board for my needs?

Good question! It’s true that we would like to claim them all! Since we have designed many different models to cater to everyone’s needs, here are certain aspects to consider when purchasing a board:

  • Weight and Length
  • Level of SUP Experience
  • Type of Experience Desired (stroll, yoga, fitness, long distances, surf, for the kids, etc.)
  • Board Users (just you, kids, friends, etc.)
  • Bodies of Water (agitated, calm, waves)
  • Storage
  • Transportation/Travel
  • Vacation

We also wrote an article that brings together the main points to consider in choosing a board that is right for you.

If you are still hesitating, come speak to one of our team members. By email, on our website, through Instagram or Facebook, it is our pleasure to assist you in selecting the right board.

What is the difference between a hard board and an inflatable board?

Let us first mention that each board has its advantages. Simply suffices to find the board that best suits your needs.

Inflatable Board

The inflatable SUP’s advantages consist of easy transportation and storage. The purchase of the board includes a travel bag in a backpack format, containing all necessary accessories for a successful practice session. The inflatable board is easy to store in a closet, in your car trunk, anywhere! The inflatable board is also perfect for bodies of water in which water levels are low and the risk of hitting rocks is high. The inflatable board is in fact much more resistant to rock collisions.

Hard Board

The hard board offers a very different feeling on the water than does an inflatable board. The hard board glides more efficiently and is much more stable. The hard board is more durable long-term and allows for more control and maneuverability. Although most people believe that travelling with a hard board can be quite difficult, it is important to know that hard boards are accepted aboard the majority of airlines.

Should you have any more questions regarding the purchase of a hard board versus an inflatable board, we are here!

What are the differences between the various paddles that you sell?

Just as with choosing the right board, selecting the right paddle depends on several factors:

  • Type of experience desired (stroll, race, surf, long distances, fitness, etc.)
  • Desire to perform and grow as a paddleboarder
  • Paddle users (just you, kids, friends, etc.)

Our paddles differ in terms of weight, ergonomics, materials used, color and surface area of the paddle head. Up to you to see what works best for you. Should you have any further questions, do not hesitate to contact one of our team members.

How should you hold your paddle?

Because an image is worth 1000 words, here you are:

Bien ramer en Stand Up Paddle

How should I store my board after an outing on the water?

When getting out of the water, it is important to thoroughly rinse your board (especially the sea salt when applicable) and to place it so that it is protected from the sun. If you are not pressed for time, it is always best to let your board completely dry before packing it back up in your travel bag. This avoids the accumulation of humidity in your travel bag.

How should I store my board during the winter?

Just your luck, we actually wrote an article on this exact subject right here: https://www.taigaboard.com/blogs/articles/entreposer-son-sup-a-lhiver.

Can I leave my inflatable board inflated after use?

Yes, no problem! Next time you use your board however, make sure that it is always inflated to 15 psi. Even if your board seems entirely inflated, it could have lost some air since the last time it was used. It’s normal. Simply inflate your board once again to 15 psi and you’re ready to hop back into the water.

It is important however to NEVER leave your board in the sun.

What are the differences between the types of fins available in your store?

Our fins all have specific functions, whether they are used for river descents, SUP surf or to gain extra speed.

The central fin is the most popular fin in SUP. It is necessary for all practice types. The flexible central fin is mostly designed for shallow waters and river descents. It is shorter and more flexible, avoiding breakage.

The central touring (or race) fin is ideal for longer distances and allows you to navigate in a straighter line. It also allows you to paddle more strokes on the same side of your board.

The side fins allow for more reactivity. They are often used in more agitated waters or in waves during SUP surf mode.

Do I need 1 or 3 fins for my SUP?

1 Solo Fin

The majority of SUPs will only have one fin. For calm waters, and for the paddler venturing on occasional outings, one central fin shall suffice.

3 Fins

The second most common configuration for a board is to have 3 fins. This configuration allows for a stable direction within calm waters, and offers extra control/stability in SUP surf mode and/or in rivers.

Do I need to remove my fin when I transport my board on the roof of my car?

To avoid any future breakage, we recommend that you do so. If you do not want to remove your fin after every use, our travel bag includes a zipper that allows you to leave your fin on your board even once it is put away.

Do I need a travel bag (boardbag) for my board?

We STRONGLY suggest one! The bag will facilitate travelling with your board, allow you to better store your board and allow you to easily go on vacation with your board. Featuring several pockets, the travel bag also allows you to organize all of your knick-knacks without endlessly searching for each one before an outing on the water: leash, fin, keys, screwdriver, and cloths to dry your board after use.

Can I go in the ocean with my board?

Of course! You can practice SUP in any type of body of water: this is what we love about this sport! Whether you have a hard or inflatable board, you can take a stroll in the ocean or go surfing. Evidently, the ocean is much more agitated than a lake, but you can definitely try it out with your board.

Do not forget to rinse your equipment in fresh water after your SUP session. Salt water can be detrimental to your board and accessories in the long run.

What is the difference between the coil leash and the straight leash?

The coil leash, also called telephone wire, is the leash most often used in SUP. Retractable, this leash is never a bother during paddleboard practice. The straight leash, in comparison, is most often used and recommended for SUP surf. It offers greater freedom and allows you to have more ‘loose’ when facing powerful waves.

In terms of length, we always recommend that the length of the leash be similar to that of your board.

When I inflate my board with the pump, the hand does not indicate the pressure. Is this normal?

The screen on the pump begins at 7 psi. It is therefore normal that, at the beginning, no pressure is indicated. Even if your board seems inflated and hard, you need to continue pumping! When you are pressing down on the pump, the hand should indicate what pressure level you have reached at that point. Be patient! In order to stay positive, tell yourself that this is a nice arm warm-up before hitting the water.

If I purchase a board online, when can I come retrieve it?

It is possible to come retrieve your board and accessories at the warehouse within 24 hours of your purchase. Please do not hesitate to communicate with us for any special requests!

Item is added to cart
ENGLISH

FAQ - Questions populaires

Qu'est ce que j'ai besoin pour transporter ma planche sur ma voiture?

J'ai un rack

L'idéal est d'avoir un rack sur le toit de votre voiture. Si vous avez un rack, faites l'achat de coussins pour ne pas abimer votre planche. Ensuite, vous devrez faire l'achat de straps qui viendront attacher la planche sécuritairement sur le rack.

Je n'ai pas de rack

Si vous n'avez pas de rack, nous vendons ce qu'on appelle des « wraprax ». Il s'agit de coussins et de straps cousus ensemble que vous pouvez apposer sur le toît de votre voiture. Agissant comme un rack temporaire (amovible et qui se déplace), le wraprax permet ainsi d'y apposer la planche sans endommager le toit de la voiture.

Lors de transport, on vous suggère fortement de mettre la planche dans un sac de transport pour éviter les intempéries, les roches ou une exposition fréquente au soleil, ce qui pourrait endommanger la planche.

J'ai fait un petit « ding » sur mon SUP. Qu'est-ce que je fais?

Pas de panique! Ça se répare bien! Au moment où vous réalisez que la planche a une petite encoche, sortez-la de l'eau et empêchez l'eau d'y entrer. Si vous croyez que l'eau a pu rentrer dans la planche, mettez-la au soleil quelques minutes et tentez de voir si de petites bulles sortent du trou. Encore, vous pouvez tenter de mettre votre bouche sur le trou et d'aspirer l'eau. Lorsque vous êtes certains qu'il n'y a plus d'eau à l'intérieur de la planche et que celle-ci est sèche, vous pouvez mettre de l'époxy pour venir sceller le trou. Laissez ensuite sécher quelques heures (ou selon les indications sur le tube d'époxy).

Si vous n'êtes pas certains de l'ampleur des dégâts, communiquez avec un membre de notre équipe.

Comment je fais pour choisir la bonne planche de SUP qu'il me faut?

Bonne question! C'est vrai qu'on les voudrait toutes! Parce que nous avons conçu plusieurs modèles pour répondre aux besoins de chacun, voici quelques points à considérer à l'achat d'une planche :

  • poids et grandeur
  • expérience en SUP
  • types d'expériences recherchées (balade, yoga, fitness, longues distances, surf, pour les enfants, etc)
  • utilisateurs de la planche (uniquement vous, enfants, amis, etc.)
  • types de plan d'eau (agité, calme, vagues, etc.)
  • entreposage
  • transport / voyage
  • voyage

On a aussi écrit un article qui résume bien les grandes lignes à considérer pour choisir la bonne planche.

Si t'hésites encore, vient jaser avec un membre de notre équipe. Par courriel, sur notre site web, sur Instagram ou sur Facebook, il nous fera plaisir de vous aider à choisir la bonne planche pour vous.

Quelle est la différence entre une planche rigide et une planche gonflable?

Mentionnons d'abord que chaque planche a ses avantages. Il s'agit simplement de trouver la planche qui répond à vos besoins.

Planche gonflable

Les avantages du SUP gonflable sont la transporabilité et l'entreposage. L'achat de la planche inclut un sac de transport format backpack qui contient tous les accessoires pour une pratique réussie. La planche gonflable est facile à entreposer dans un garde-robe, dans le coffre de sa voiture, partout. La planche gonflable est aussi parfaite sur les plans d'eau où le niveau de l'eau est bas et que le risque de frapper des roches est élevé. La planche gonflable est en fait plus résistante aux collisions avec des roches.

Planche rigide

La planche rigide offre un feeling sur l'eau très différent de la planche gonflable. La planche glisse mieux et est plus stable. La rigide sera plus durable à long terme et permet aussi plus de contrôle et de maniabilité. Bien que plusieurs croient qu'il est plus difficile de voyager avec une planche rigide, sachez que la majorité des transporteurs aériens acceptent les planches rigides.

Si vous avez des questions au regard de l'achat d'une planche rigide vs d'une planche gonflable, on est là!

Quelles sont les différences entre les pagaies que vous vendez?

Comme pour le choix d'une planche, le choix de la pagaie dépend de plusieurs facteurs :

  • type d'expérience recherchée (balade, course, Surf, longue distance, fitness, etc.)
  • désir de performer et de croître dans le sport
  • utilisateurs de la pagaie (uniquement vous, enfants, amis, etc.)

Nos pagaies diffèrent au niveau du poids, de l'ergonomique, des matériaux utilisés, de la couleur et de la superficie de la pale. À vous de voir ce qui vous convient. Si vous avez des questions, n'hésitez pas à questionner un membre de notre équipe.

Comment est-ce qu'il faut tenir sa pagaie?

Parce qu'une image vaut 1000 mots, voici :

Bien ramer en Stand Up Paddle

Comment dois-je entreposer ma planche après une sortie sur l'eau?

Lors de votre sortie de l'eau, il est important de bien rincer la planche (surtout le sel de mer, le cas échéant) et de la déposer à l'abri du soleil. Si le temps vous le permet, il est toujours mieux que votre planche soit sèche avant de la remettre dans son sac de transport. Ça évite l'humidité de s'accumuler dans le sac de transport.

Comment dois-je entreposer ma planche pendant l'hiver?

Ça tombe bien, on a justement écrit un article à ce sujet

Est-ce que je peux laisser ma planche gonflable gonflée après l'avoir utilisé?

Oui sans aucun problème! Lors de votre prochaine utilisation, assurez-vous toutefois que la planche soit toujours à 15 psi. Même si votre planche semble encore gonflée complètement, elle peut avoir perdue un peu d'air depuis la dernière utilisation. C'est normal. On vous invite donc à la gonfler de nouveau jusqu'à 15 psi et hop à l'eau.

Il est toutefois important de ne JAMAIS laisser sa planche au soleil.

Quelles sont les différences entre les ailerons dans votre boutique?

Les ailerons ont tous une fonction bien précise, que ce soit pour la descente de rivières, pour le SUP surf ou pour prendre de la vitesse.

L'aileron central est l'aileron le plus utilisé en SUP. Il est nécessaire pour toutes les pratiques. L'aileron central flexible a surtout été conçu pour les eaux basses et les descentes de rivières. Il est plus court et flexible pour éviter qu'il ne casse.

L'aileron central touring (ou race) est idéale pour les plus longues distances et permet d'aller plus en ligne droite. Il permet aussi de faire plus de coup de pagaie du même côté.

Les ailerons de côtés permettent plus de réactivité. Ils sont souvent utilisés quand il y a plus de houle ou dans les vagues en mode SUP surf.

Est-ce que j'ai besoin de 1 ou 3 ailerons sur mon SUP?

1 seul aileron

La majorité des SUPs n'aura qu'un seul aileron. Sur eau calme, et pour le pagayeur qui fait des sorties sur l'eau ici et là, un seul aileron central suffit.

3 ailerons

Avoir 3 ailerons est la deuxième configuration la plus répandue sur une planche. Cette configuration permet une bonne direction sur eau calme et offre un contrôle/stabilité supplémentaire en mode SUP surf et/ou en rivière.

Dois-je enlever mon aileron quand je transporte ma planche sur le toit de ma voiture?

Pour éviter tout éventuel bris, on vous le recommande. Si vous ne souhaitez pas enlever l'aileron après chaque utilisation, notre sac de transport est muni d'une fermeture éclair qui vous permet de laisser l'aileron sur la planche même lorsqu'elle est rangée.

Dois-je avoir un sac de transport (boardbag) pour ma planche?

On vous le suggère FORTEMENT! Le sac facilitera vos transports avec la planche, vous permettra de mieux entreposer votre planche et vous pourrez aussi l'apporter sans inquiétudes en voyage. Muni de plusieurs poches, le sac de transport permet aussi de trimballer tous vos cossins sans devoir les chercher à chaque sortie sur l'eau : leash, aileron, clés, tourne-vis, linges pour essuyer la planche après l'usage.

Est-ce que je peux aller dans la mer avec ma planche?

Bien sûr! Vous pouvez faire du SUP sur tous les plans d'eau : voilà ce qu'on aime de ce sport! Que vous ayez une planche rigide ou gonflable, vous pouvez aller vous balader en mer ou faire du surf. Évidemment, la mer est normalement plus agitée qu'un lac, mais vous pouvez l'essayer avec votre planche.

N'oubliez surtout pas de rincer à l'eau douce votre équipement après votre session de SUP. L'eau salée, à long terme, peut être maline pour les planches et les accessoires.

Quelle est la différence entre le leash coil et le leash straight?

Le leash coil, aussi appelé fil téléphone, est le leash le plus souvent utilisée en SUP. Étant rétractable, ce leash ne devient aucunement encombrant lors de la pratique du paddleboard. Le leash straight, quant à celui-là, est plus souvent utilisé et recommandé pour le SUP surf. Il offre une plus grande liberté et permet d'avoir plus de ''lousse'' avec le pouvoir des vagues.

En termes de grandeur, on recommande toujours que celle du leash soit similaire à la longueur de la planche.

Quand je gonflle ma planche avec la pompe, l’aiguille n'indique pas la pression. Est-ce normal?

Le cadran sur la pompe commence à 7 psi. Il est donc normal qu'au début, il n'indique rien. Même si votre planche semble gonflée et dure, il faut continuer à pomper! C'est au moment que vous appuyez la pompe vers le bas que l'aiguille indiquera à quelle pression vous êtes rendus. Soyez patient! Pour être positif, dites-vous que c'est une belle manière d'échauffer vos bras avant de sauter à l'eau.

Si j’achète une planche en ligne, quand est-ce que je peux aller la chercher?

Il est possible d'aller chercher votre planche et accessoires à l'entrepôt dans les 24 heures suivant votre achat. N'hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous directement pour toutes demandes spéciales!