Mariepier Bastien

  

Describe yourself in a few sentences.

My name is Mariepier. I am 29 years old and I have all my teeth. I am the head of marketing at Taiga since 2018. I am in charge of all communications under every possible format: writing, organizing, planning, creating, gossiping, etc. There you have it! 

Quand tu n'es pas sur l'eau, tu fais quoi?

Too many things. My mom actually constantly reprimands me. I am a student pursuing my Ph.D. in Education at the University of Ottawa and I work as a freelancer in communication for a few companies that really excite me. I do mostly content creation, writing, and social media management. If not, I spend my time on the road in my new modified Promaster and my fiancé (I'm so mature), Dominic. Our van is named Vanessa (obviously, it is Dom who insisted on the name). 

What is your favorite paddleboard spot? 

In Quebec, Lake Meech for the most beautiful sunsets, and Outaouais and Havre-Saint-Pierre for paddleboarding with whales. I have also had the opportunity of paddleboarding in Norway, not too far from the killer whales – it is truly impressive (and also quite terrifying).

That’s three spots. Is that bad?

What is your preferred Taiga board

My favorite toy: the Awen Peach. Its stability is perfect for yoga, a long excursion through calm waters or a picnic on a sunny Saturday in July (you know, the kind of picnic where you just spread yourself out on your board?). I also have a soft spot for the Eska. It requires much more control in calm waters but is perfect for small waves. 

If you could choose your dream spot to practice SUP, where would it be? 

Oh c’mon, just one? Um, probably Patagonia. With a good 4/3 wetsuit, you can go anywhere!

Item is added to cart
ENGLISH

Mariepier Bastien

  

Décris-toi en quelques phrases.

Je m’appelle Mariepier, j’ai 29 ans et toutes mes dents. Je suis responsable du marketing chez Taïga depuis 2018. Je m'occupe des communications, dans tous les sens des termes : rédaction, organisation, planification, création, collaboration, etc. Voilà! 

Quand tu n'es pas sur l'eau, tu fais quoi?

Trop d'affaires. Ma mère me chicane toujours d'ailleurs. Je suis étudiante au doctorat en éducation à l'Université d'Ottawa et je travaille à la pige en communication pour certaines compagnies qui me font tripper. Je fais surtout de la création de contenus, de la rédaction et de la gestion de médias sociaux. Sinon, je passe mon temps sur la route dans mon nouveau Promaster modifié avec mon barbu Dominic. Notre van s’appelle Vanessâ (ouin, c’est Dom qui a statué sur le nom). 

Quel est ton spot de paddleboard préféré?

Au Québec, le lac Meech pour les plus beaux couchers de soleil en Outaouais et Havre-Saint-Pierre pour le paddlebaord avec les baleines. J'ai aussi eu la chance de faire du paddle en Norvège non loin des orques, c'est assez impressionnant (lire vraiment épeurant). 

Ça fait trois spots. C'est tu grave? 

Quelle est ta planche Taïga de choix?

Mon jouet préféré : la Awen Peach. Sa stabilité est parfaite pour le yoga, une longue randonnée sur eaux calmes ou un pique-nique un samedi ben ensolleilé de juillet (t’sais le genre de pique-nique où tu t'écrases sur ta planche?). J'ai aussi un petit faible pour la Eska. Elle demande un meilleur contrôle sur eaux calmes mais est parfaite dans de petites vaguettes.  

Si tu avais à choisir un endroit de rêve ou faire du SUP, ça serait ou?

Ben voyons, juste un!  

Euh, sans doute en Patagonie entre les glaciers. Avec un bon wetsuit 4/3, tu peux aller n'importe où! Peut-être aussi dans les Maldives. T’sais où il faut ben chaud?